Skip navigation

Hello all!,

This is my first blog post ever! As you have probably seen, my name is Joey Sipos, and I have decided to embark on a great journey of trying to design a mission for the awesome game flight simulator. I have been messing around with the fsx SDK for quite some time – about 2 years I would say. Mostly creating little 3d models for the game. And I have taken a look at the mission creation tool and did some little projects here and there.  I have no idea what to call this mission – for now I am going to call it “mission impossible” because it sounds cool and is also a good name for the development process – It’s going to be almost impossible to complete development given the complexity of my idea. The idea for this mission is built into my head and i am writing this post to lay a foundation for my plan. And also to get support and ideas from others.

 

As when I expect to have the mission done? Probably some time near the end of summer 2008 considering how much free time I have. I am in school and I have a bunch of other programming projects to complete as well, so time is limited. Ok, so let’s get to my Idea shale we:

 

1st – The Idea:

So this is my idea for the mission. It is going to take place on the beach near LA, California. I chose this place because of the sweet scenery. I am using MegaScenery Southern California and the effect of satellite imagery is incredible (Update: You Will not need MagaScenery now – I’ve created my own satellite imagery). Take a look at my fsx Accelertion video below (the video that some how got over 100,000 veiws on youtube?) – where I am flying the red helicopter is where the mission is taking place. The 3D models and so forth are going to lie on top of this beautiful scenery. The mission is going to consist of a Police helicopter chasing down a runaway criminal driving a blue sports car on a highway alongside the beach. Your objective is to keep on the sports car tail until he is caught!

 

2nd – The 3D Models (my deadline to complete models – by end of June)

My goal is to create many custom models for the game. I am using gmax to create the models, which is a free and powerful tool. Some of the models are going to include cars, trees, houses, bridges, ect… I already have the blue sports car finished, along with the road and a couple palm trees. Note – the palm trees sway in the wind when the helicopter gets close to them! Next on my list is creating buildings and houses. I will probably make a blog post showing you the progress of the houses and buildings when I get down too work on them. The cop cars are also on my next to do list. I will keep adding scenery until the game starts slowing down performance wise. So far there is no noticeable hit in frames per second. Most of the models have LOD’s built into them to lower the polygon count and give the computer a little break.

 

3rd – Putting the mission all together

This is probably going to take the longest time to complete. But I should have time over summer to do it. I know I will run into all kinds of obstacles. I will be using the mission/ scenery editor that came with the fsx sdk to put the mission together and from what I have experience so far with the editor is that it is very tricky to use and unreliable. But I should be able to debug my way through it. I also plan on adding my own music to the mission. I recently bought an electric piano and found a way to hook it up to the computer via MIDI ports. I am using ACID studio to edit the music – which is like garage band for pc.     

 

4th – Release the mission for FREE

I plan to release the mission probably by the end of September considering if I stick with my plan or not. I will upload the mission to FS sites like AVSIM.com and will make it free. I will try to make an awesome trailer video – possibly with my own music as well to avoid all the copy write stuff.  I might add a donation page if I think my work is worthy of money. We shall see.

 

5th – Please motivate me

Most of all, I need people to motivate me. I will feel like working on this project a lot more if I see people are interested in my efforts. So please if you are reading this – give me suggestions or comments so that I will keep me moving forward. I can do great things if I stay focused and people believe in me! I thank you again for all that visited and God bless!

 

Note – if you have any ideas for the title of the mission, let me know in the comments.

17 Comments

  1. hey man… keep up the good work!!! it sounds like an aming project… looking forward to seeing the results of it!!!

  2. Sounds cool!Too bad this will only work with Mega Scenery X Southern California, though.  You might want to consider making this in a default scenery area to appeal to more users.

  3. Sounds cool!Too bad this will only work with Mega Scenery X Southern California, though.  You might want to consider making this in a default scenery area to appeal to more users.

  4. Sounds cool!Too bad this will only work with Mega Scenery X Southern California, though.  You might want to consider making this in a default scenery area to appeal to more users.

  5. Sounds cool!Too bad this will only work with Mega Scenery X Southern California, though.  You might want to consider making this in a default scenery area to appeal to more users.

  6. Sounds cool!Too bad this will only work with Mega Scenery X Southern California, though.  You might want to consider making this in a default scenery area to appeal to more users.

  7. Sounds cool!Too bad this will only work with Mega Scenery X Southern California, though.  You might want to consider making this in a default scenery area to appeal to more users.

  8. Sounds cool!Too bad this will only work with Mega Scenery X Southern California, though.  You might want to consider making this in a default scenery area to appeal to more users.

  9. Sounds cool!Too bad this will only work with Mega Scenery X Southern California, though.  You might want to consider making this in a default scenery area to appeal to more users.

  10. Sounds cool!Too bad this will only work with Mega Scenery X Southern California, though.  You might want to consider making this in a default scenery area to appeal to more users.

  11. I’m very sorry, that was really odd.  My computer messed up when I clicked add.

  12. I’m very sorry, that was really odd.  My computer messed up when I clicked add.

  13. I’m very sorry, that was really odd.  My computer messed up when I clicked add.

  14. hahahah , thats alot of posts Orion. ITs all good though. But to answer your question, I am pretty sure everything will work with the default scenery aswell. It just wont line up as nice. 
     
    Note: I worked on finding the best way to build houses today. I shall post screenshots sometime this week of what they look like.
    Thnks for the comments!

  15. Hi Joey. Check out Jim Keir’s new shareware Mission Editor for FSX available at SimMarket
    The base version is free, and I think you’ll find it will make developing your mission a lot easier – you may even decide to add additional complexity that you otherwise would not have done with the default editor that comes with the SDK.
     
    If you are just curious, you can also download the Users Manual separately, too.
     
    Good luvk with your mission
    – regards, 75027

  16. Hello Joey,
     
    as I see it, i don’t have any training in computers but you are making 3D pictures and it looks great to me….continure to do what you are oding and if you need any help,,,,,drop me a line…yoiu are doing good.  take care, ralph

  17. Great Job keep up the good work, looks good so far, can not wait to try on the sim


Leave a Reply

