Skip navigation

Ok, so I promised a post every Monday, so here I go. This week’s subject is artificial intelligents!

One of the hardest challenges we’ve faced with making a Blue Angels Mission is AI aircraft. We asked ourselves over and over again, how the heck are we going to get this AI to work? How in the world are we going to get 6 Blue Angels flying in formation at the same time? Is it even possible? I looked at a variety of solutions with the mission system, using AI waypoints and so forth, but after experiencing copious amount of problems and bugs I knew this solution was far from possible. But where this a will there is a way! And I came up with a solution. It involves recording your flight and playing all 5 of them back at the same exact time. It works like a charm! The only problem is it takes forever to record each AI! You have to fly each aircraft in formation and if you make one mistake – START ALL OVER. I will post a video of the working AI tomorrow! I have to say, it’s pretty amazing seeing all 5 of the Blue angels (plus you) working together! And I think I am the only one who successfully implemented this in a working Mission, I’m surprised no other Blue Angel Missions exist yet!

Leave a Reply

